Talking about some directors being bitches of the companies they work for. Disney for example with their Disney Digital 3D which is a 2D – 3D conversion in a lot of their films.

It’s something I’ve talked about a lot, it’s why I thought the 3D in Alice in Wonderland sucked, I’ve also shot in 2D and converted to 3D and it ONLY works well if you have prepared 3D shots, you can use green screen and CGI like Alice in Wonderland, but it just looks like a series of windows layers in z-space, it’s ugly.. The 2D – 3D shots also have to be shot in a certain way and through this you get gimmicks (objects needlessly flying at the screen and people running in z space)

2D basically becomes an illusion of cinema 3D… Cinema 3D is an illusion itself so it’s ridiculously gimmicky to have 2D in 3D clothing.

If you film like that you really sacrifice the quality of a film and it’s something I’m heavily criticizing Tim Burton of doing. I don’t think Tim Burton’s a bitch director because 3D was probably his idea (I hope) but I think it was a really bad move to make AIW 3D, especially with 2D conversion. It just doesn’t work, things have to be filmed in 3D to look 3D there’s actually a lot you learn when you shoot in 3D, James Cameron knows this which is why his 3D is astounding, he did help develop the technology so…

“I shoot complicated stuff, I put real elements into action scenes and honestly, I am not sold right now on the conversion process…. Right now, it looks like fake 3-D, with layers that are very apparent. You go to the screening room, you are hoping to be thrilled, and you’re thinking, huh, this kind of sucks. People can say what they want about my movies, but they are technically precise, and if this isn’t going to be excellent, I don’t want to do it. And it is my choice…. I’m used to having the A-team working on my films, and I’m going to hand it over to the D-team, have it shipped to India and hope for the best? This conversion process is always going to be inferior to shooting in real 3-D. Studios might be willing to sacrifice the look and use the gimmick to make $3 more a ticket, but I’m not.” – Michael Bay

Some people may not like Bay but he’s absolutely right.

3D’s the next big thing anyway, the hype has kind of died down now but will probably raise again this summer. 2010 being the year of 3D home entertainment systems, 3D HD TVs and 3D bluray players, even 3D LCD TVs you don’t need glasses for. Panasonic and other camera companies developing “Twin Lenses” for filming in 3D at a lower price than buying 2 cameras.

If you’re going to do something do it right, I’ve messed around with 3D before, I’ll be doing it again in the near future but ONLY when it’s needed, like if I filmed a drama in 3D what would be the point in the 3D other than a gimmick? I have no idea (unless the locations the drama was set were stunningly beautiful)