Part of my HND course is my DVD, which is actually my graded unit.. My graded unit also ties in with my web presence which is actually where this blog comes in… Anyway, creating a DVD interface is one thing, but what I really want to do is create a DVD interface that’s simple but it makes people wants to look at it.

I did this before by creating a DVD menu with my sunset images

The nice images were the first draft but they didn’t move so it wasn’t entertaining enough.

Then I got the Hurt Locker on DVD and the menu blew me away. If you watch the hurt locker you will see all the high speed footage they got. Well the menu is basically still images or high speed footage that’s rotoscoped and then turned from 2D in to 3D layers and the layers are spread apart in Z space to give a 3D look.

Basically in English it’s like moving through a scene that’s frozen in time. I decided to mimic this effect for my DVD by using screens from my latest film RECON.

Still a work in progress but you get the idea.. Still keeping the Information page with the sunsets but hopefully I’ll be able to turn those in to a virtual 3D photo as well

The main idea is to create a menu that people want to watch… I found myself watching the Hurt Locker DVD menu a few times and skipping to different sections to see different video. That’s what really inspired me, the fact that the DVD menu kept you watching it. I want to create a DVD menu that will keep people watching too.

Other than that I still want to keep the menu simple.. Very simple titles and very simple layout so it’s easy to navigate but the video is what will make it interesting

